University of Klagenfurt

Since its foundation in 1970, the University of Klagenfurt has established as a distinctive voice reinforcing the canon of Austrian state universities. Offering a broad spectrum of subjects, it is a globally networked research institution and a hub for the acquisition, exchange, and transfer of knowledge across the entire Alps-Adriatic Region.

More than 10,000 students attend the university for the purpose of study and research, including around 1,800 international students from more than 80 countries. About 1,500 staff members strive to produce outstanding achievements in research and teaching and administrative tasks. Appreciation and mutual support are the foundations of a prosperous community of university teachers and learners, and provide the basis for achieving ambitious targets.

The university is organized into four schools: Humanities, management and economics, technical sciences (engineering), and interdisciplinary research and education. The engineering school focuses on three areas:

  • Computer science (INF)
  • Information and communications engineering (ICE)
  • Mathematics (MATH)

In 2015, the university defined two areas of excellence, one of them being networked and autonomous systems maintained by the ICE professors and researchers.